About the Planning Commission

Printer-friendly version

The Planning Commission consists of five members, appointed by the City Council for terms of four years each.  The authority for the work of the Commission is established in State law and in the Brisbane Municipal Code.  The primary duties and responsibilities of the Commission are:

  1. To review, take public testimony, and make recommendations to the City Council in regard to the City's General Plan, which is a comprehensive, long-term compilation of policies regarding the physical, social and economic development of the City.
  2. To develop zoning regulations to implement the General Plan, hold public hearings, and make recommendations regarding the adoption of these regulations to the City Council.
  3. To consider and take action on land use development applications, such as use permits, design permits, variances, and subdivision applications.
  4. To assist the City Council as requested by reviewing and commenting on special projects, studies, and reports and by holding public meetings and hearings to gather public comment.
The Planning Commission meets regularly on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Community Meeting Room at Brisbane City Hall, 50 Park Place.   Agendas are publicly posted at least 72 hours before the meetings.  The agendas provided on the website include links to the agenda reports.  Minutes are posted to the website following adoption by the Commission.  Planning Commission meetings are televised on Comcast Channel 27, recorded to DVD and video recordings are provided below.  To receive email notifications of meetings, please contact the Planning division at (415) 508-2120.  See current, archived and upcoming meetings.

Planning Commissioners:

TuongVan Do, Chair
Appointed: December 2010, 2012
Term Expires: Apr. 30, 2016
Dave Reinhardt, Vice Chair
Appointed: March 2010, 2012
Term Expires: Apr. 30, 2016
Greg Anderson
Appointed: June 2015
Term Expires: Jan. 2018
Carolyn Parker
Appointed: April 2008, 2012
Term Expires: Apr. 30, 2016
Jameel Munir
Appointed: Aug. 1999, Jan. 2002, Jan. 2006, March 2010, 2014
Term Expires: Jan. 2018